Balite Falls: A secret getaway in Cavite

Location: Amadeo, Cavite

My wanderlust made me want to visit a place less traveled to. To commence my December, without forcing myself to wake up too early, I ventured to Cavite on my own.

IMG_20161203_202225.jpg
The coliseum

To be honest, the day prior to my solo weekend trip, I was still uncertain about where I want to go. I slept on a Friday night only knowing that I found one place rarely visited by others: Balite Falls.

Thankfully, arriving to the place isn’t that hard, at least for people who find happiness in going to unknown places.

Here’s how you could get there from any point in EDSA:

Ride a bus along EDSA that would pass by Coastal Mall in Parañaque. Most buses that go to Mall of Asia would also pass by Coastal Mall (after MOA).
From Coastal Mall, take the bus to Trece Martires or Indang, Cavite. Ask the bus conductor to drop you off at Manggahan Intersection (landmarks: McDonalds at the corner, and beside Mercury Drug Store, 7 11 across McDonalds, and beside Banco de Oro).
The Jeepney terminal to Amadeo is beside BDO. Ride the jeep and ask the driver to drop you off at Balite Falls. From the highway, you would have to walk about 10 to 15 minutes to arrive at the place.

IMG_20161203_235220.jpg
Keep moving forward

Balite Falls is a part of the secluded resort in Amadeo. One would immediately see the swimming pool which visitors could access for 50php. However, those who would like to go to the falls would have to pay 100php.

IMG_20161203_235326.jpg

The caretakers of the place told me to follow the route going down. That was when I saw the falls.

IMG_20161203_201909.jpg

The waters in the falls are not crystal clear, but it was definitely refreshing. There were also smaller pools where little kids could enjoy.

IMG_20161208_095842.jpg
Kiddie pool

IMG_20161203_202046IMG_20161203_235646IMG_20161205_185308

The place is simply beautiful and refreshing. Although small, the place isn’t much crowded at all. 

There are cottages available for rent. However, since I went on my own, they allowed to keep my things at the registration area. After some time, I opted to swim at the pool instead since nobody else was using it.

IMG_20161203_144108.jpg

Just before dark, I headed home back to Manila with my heart filled with joy and my mind filled with peace.

Expenses (in PHP):
023: Bus fare from Shaw Boulevard to Coastal Mall
047: Bus fare from Coastal Mall to Manggahan
017: Jeepney fare from Manggahan to Amadeo
020:Tricycle fare from highway to Balite Falls (10-15 minute walk only)
100: Entrance fee to the falls
050: Additional fee to access the swimming pools
017: Jeepney fare from Amadeo to Manggahan
047: Bus fare from Manggahan to Pasay
020: Bus fare from Pasay to Megamall
Total damage: 341php

Good to know:
1. Best to buy food at Manggahan since there is only one mini store inside the resort that manages the falls.
2. Signal is weak in the area.
3. Cottages could be rented from 500-1000php, but if you’re a solo traveler like me, they would offer to keep your bag at the counter without any charges.

Leave a Reply

